Once a volume is no longer necessary (it is inactive and its contents have been archived, for example), it is possible to remove the volume and free up the disk space for other uses.
To remove a volume
/etc/filesystemsfile, remove its entry by editing this file. Refer to your operating system documentation for more information about the format of this file and how you can modify it.
] remove volume
Alternatively, you can use the
vxedit command to remove the volume:
] [-r] [-f] rm
-r option to
vxedit indicates recursive removal. This removes all plexes associated with the volume and all subdisks associated with those plexes. The
-f option to
vxedit forces removal. This is necessary if the volume is still enabled.