Symantec logo

General reinstallation information

When reinstalling VxVM after a failure of the boot (root) disk, the aim is to preserve as much of the original configuration as possible.

Warning: System reinstallation destroys the contents of any disks that are used for reinstallation.

All VxVM-related information is removed during reinstallation. Data removed includes data in private areas on removed disks that contain the disk identifier and copies of the VxVM configuration. The removal of this information makes the disk unusable as a VM disk.

The system root disk is always involved in reinstallation. Any other disks that are involved in the reinstallation, or that are removed and replaced, can lose VxVM configuration data (including volumes and mirrors).

If a disk is not under VxVM control prior to the failure, no VxVM configuration data is lost at reinstallation.

When reinstallation is necessary, the only volumes saved are those that reside on, or have copies on, disks that are not directly involved with the failure and reinstallation. Any volumes on the root disk and other disks involved with the failure or reinstallation are lost during reinstallation. If backup copies of these volumes are available, the volumes can be restored after reinstallation. On some systems, the root, stand, and usr file systems are exceptions and cannot be restored from backup.