After removing a disk from a disk group, you can permanently remove it from Veritas Volume Manager control.
vxdiskunsetupcommand removes a disk from Veritas Volume Manager control by erasing the VxVM metadata on the disk. To prevent data loss, any data on the disk should first be evacuated from the disk. The
vxdiskunsetupcommand should only be used by a system administrator who is trained and knowledgeable about Veritas Volume Manager.
To remove a disk from VxVM control
Type the following command: