Hot-relocation is turned on as long as the
vxrelocd process is running. You should normally leave hot-relocation turned on so that you can take advantage of this feature if a failure occurs. However, if you choose to disable hot-relocation (perhaps because you do not want the free space on your disks to be used for relocation), you can prevent
vxrelocd from starting at system startup time by editing the
/etc/init.d/vxvm-recover startup file that invokes
You can alter the behavior of
vxrelocd as follows:
vxrelocdstarting, comment out the entry that invokes it in the startup file:
vxrelocdsends electronic mail to
rootwhen failures are detected and relocation actions are performed. You can instruct
vxrelocdto notify additional users by adding the appropriate user names as shown here:
vxrelocdto increase the delay between the recovery of each region of the volume, as shown in the following example:
After making changes to the way
vxrelocd is invoked in the startup file, reboot the system so that the changes go into effect.
You can also stop hot-relocation at any time by killing the
vxrelocd process (this should not be done while a hot-relocation attempt is in progress).
vxrelocd manually, either include
/etc/vx/bin in your PATH or specify
vxrelocd's absolute pathname, for example:
nohup vxrelocd root &
Alternatively, you can use the following command:
nohup /etc/vx/bin/vxrelocd root user1
vxrelocd(1M) manual page.