Symantec logo

Determining or giving primaryship

Both primary and secondary nodes handle their metadata intent logging for the cluster file system. The first node of a cluster file system to mount is called the primary node. Other nodes are called secondary nodes. If a primary node fails, an internal election process determines which of the secondaries becomes the primary file system.

 To determine primaryship

# fsclustadm -v showprimary mount_point

 To give primaryship to a node

# fsclustadm -v setprimary mount_point