Moving disk groups between systems
An important feature of disk groups is that they can be moved between systems. If all disks in a disk group are moved from one system to another, then the disk group can be used by the second system. You do not have to re-specify the configuration.
To move a disk group between systems
On the first system, stop all volumes in the disk group, then deport (disable local access to) the disk group with the following command:
vxdg deport diskgroup
Move all the disks to the second system and perform the steps necessary (system-dependent) for the second system and VxVM to recognize the new disks.
This can require a reboot, in which case the
vxconfigd daemon is restarted and recognizes the new disks. If you do not reboot, use the command
enable to restart the
vxconfigd program so VxVM also recognizes the disks.
Import (enable local access to) the disk group on the second system with this command:
vxdg import diskgroup
Warning: All disks in the disk group must be moved to the other system. If they are not moved, the import fails.
After the disk group is imported, start all volumes in the disk group with this command:
vxrecover -g diskgroup
You can also move disks from a system that has crashed. In this case, you cannot deport the disk group from the first system. When a disk group is created or imported on a system, that system writes a lock on all disks in the disk group.
Warning: The purpose of the lock is to ensure that dual-ported disks (disks that can be accessed simultaneously by two systems) are not used by both systems at the same time. If two systems try to access the same disks at the same time, this must be managed using software such as the clustering functionality of VxVM. Otherwise, configuration information stored on the disk may be corrupted, and the data on the disk may become unusable.