Modifying the behavior of hot-relocation
Hot-relocation is turned on as long as the vxrelocd process is running. You should normally leave hot-relocation turned on so that you can take advantage of this feature if a failure occurs. However, if you choose to disable hot-relocation (perhaps because you do not want the free space on your disks to be used for relocation), you can prevent vxrelocd from starting at system startup time by editing the /etc/init.d/vxvm-recover startup file that invokes vxrelocd.
If the hot-relocation daemon is disabled, then automatic storage reclamation on deleted volumes is also disabled.
You can alter the behavior of vxrelocd as follows:
To prevent vxrelocd starting, comment out the entry that invokes it in the startup file:
# vxrelocd root &
By default, vxrelocd sends electronic mail to root when failures are detected and relocation actions are performed. You can instruct vxrelocd to notify additional users by adding the appropriate user names as shown here:
# vxrelocd root user1 user2 &
To reduce the impact of recovery on system performance, you can instruct vxrelocd to increase the delay between the recovery of each region of the volume, as shown in the following example:
# vxrelocd -o slow[=IOdelay] root &
where the optional IOdelay value indicates the desired delay in milliseconds. The default value for the delay is 250 milliseconds.