This section describes how to remove a Veritas Volume Manager (VxVM) disk.
You must disable a disk group before you can remove the last disk in that group.
As an alternative to disabling the disk group, you can destroy the disk group.
You can remove a disk from a system and move it to another system if the disk is failing or has failed.
To remove a disk
- Stop all activity by applications to volumes that are configured on the disk that is to be removed. Unmount file systems and shut down databases that are configured on the volumes.
- Use the following command to stop the volumes:
# vxvol [-g diskgroup] stop vol1 vol2 ...
- Move the volumes to other disks or back up the volumes. To move a volume, use vxdiskadm to mirror the volume on one or more disks, then remove the original copy of the volume. If the volumes are no longer needed, they can be removed instead of moved.
- Check that any data on the disk has either been moved to other disks or is no longer needed.
- Select Remove a disk from the vxdiskadm main menu.
- At the following prompt, enter the disk name of the disk to be removed:
Enter disk name [<disk>,list,q,?] mydg01
- If there are any volumes on the disk, VxVM asks you whether they should be evacuated from the disk. If you wish to keep the volumes, answer y. Otherwise, answer n.
- At the following verification prompt, press to continue:
VxVM NOTICE V-5-2-284 Requested operation is to remove disk
mydg01 from group mydg.
Continue with operation? [y,n,q,?] (default: y)
The vxdiskadm utility removes the disk from the disk group and displays the following success message:
VxVM INFO V-5-2-268 Removal of disk mydg01 is complete.
You can now remove the disk or leave it on your system as a replacement.
- At the following prompt, indicate whether you want to remove other disks (y) or return to the vxdiskadm main menu (n):
Remove another disk? [y,n,q,?] (default: n)