Volume Replicator components overview

The following table describes the Volume Replicator components you must configure.

Table: Volume Replicator components



Replicated Volume Group (RVG)

An RVG is made up of one or more volumes in an SFW disk group. The updates made on the RVG on the primary host are sent to a configured secondary host. Thus, on the secondary host there is a corresponding RVG with a disk group of the same name and volumes with the same names. The data volumes should be the same size. Optionally, to add more redundancy, you can have multiple secondary hosts, all with the same corresponding copy of the RVG.

An RVG within a disk group is the container for replication, so if you have multiple disk groups, you will need to create a separate RVG for each disk group. It is possible to have more than one RVG in a disk group; however, the RVG cannot span across disk groups.

Replicated Data Set (RDS)

An RVG on the primary host and any corresponding RVGs on the secondary host or hosts make up a Replicated Data Set (RDS).

Replicator Log volume

Each RVG must have a Replicator Log associated with it. The Replicator Log volume at the primary site holds a copy of any RVG updates that are sent to the secondary site. The Replicator Log on the secondary site is held in reserve so that it can be used if the primary site becomes nonfunctional and the secondary site needs to become the new primary site. The log volumes at the two sites must have the same name. Veritas recommends having Replicator Log volumes of the same size at the primary site and the secondary site.