Migrating from SFHA to SFCFSHA 6.0.1

This section describes how to migrate Storage Foundation High Availability (SFHA) 6.0.1 to Storage Foundation Cluster File System High Availability (SFCFSHA) 6.0.1.

The product installer does not support direct upgrades from a previous version of SFHA or SFCFSHA6.0.1. Ensure that you upgrade the existing SFHA to 6.0.1 before beginning this procedure.

To migrate from SFHA 6.0.1 to SFCFSHA 6.0.1

  1. Back up the main.cf file before beginning the upgrade.
  2. Confirm that the storage disks are visible on all the nodes in the 6.0.1 SFHA cluster.
  3. Bring all the failover service groups offline, using the following command:
    # hagrp -offline group_name -any

    The above command brings the service group offline on the node where the service group is currently online.

  4. Unmount all the VxFS file systems which are not under VCS control. If the local file systems are under VCS control, then VCS unmounts the file systems when the failover service group is brought offline in step 3.

    On the nodes that have any mounted VxFS local file systems that are not under VCS control:

    # umount -F vxfs -a
  5. Stop all of the activity on the volumes and deport the local disk groups. If the local disk groups are part of VCS failover service groups, then VCS deports the disk groups when the failover service group is brought offline in step 3.
    # vxvol -g diskgroup_name stopall
    # vxdg deport diskgroup_name
  6. Upgrade the existing SFHA to SFCFSHA 6.0.1:
    # ./installsfcfsha
  7. After installation is completed, the install script asks you to install licenses. Enter the correct license key to register the key.
  8. The installer prompts to reconfigure the VCS. Provide the same cluster name, cluster ID, and LLT link interfaces details that were used during configuration of the SFHA cluster.
  9. Find out which node is the CVM master, using the following command:
    # vxdctl -c mode
  10. On the CVM Master node, re-import all the required disk groups which must be in shared mode:
    # vxdg -s import diskgroup_name
  11. Start all the volumes whose disk groups have been imported as shared in step 10. Use the following command:
    # vxdg -g diskgroup_name startall
  12. Run the following command for each of the file systems you want to mount as CFS:
    # cfsmntadm add diskgroup_name volume_name mount_point \
  13. Run the following command to mount CFS file systems on all the nodes:
    # cfsmount mount_point
  14. Import all other local disk groups which have not been imported in shared mode in step 10.
    # vxdg import diskgroup_name

    Start all the volumes of these disk groups using:

    # vxvol -g diskgroup_name startall

    Mount these volumes.

  15. For any of the file systems which VCS needs to monitor through failover service groups, create these failover service groups by adding the Mount, Diskgroup & Volume resources for VxFS file systems under VCS control.